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January 8, 2025 
 
To:  All Businesses 
 
Re:  Annual Monetary Adjustment to Nevada OSHA Penalties 
 
The administrative penalties for workplace safety violations levied by the Nevada Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) against employers who are not in compliance will 
increase, effective January 15, 2025. As a result of Senate Bill 40 - passed during Nevada’s 
2019 Legislative session - the Division of Industrial Relations automatically adopts penalties in 
alignment with those imposed by the Department of Labor OSHA enforcement program.  
 
The Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015 requires the 
Department of Labor to annually evaluate its civil monetary penalties to adjust for inflation no 
later than January 15 of each year. 
 
As a result, Nevada OSHA’s administrative penalties will increase by 2.59%, effective 
immediately for any penalty assessed on or after January 15, 2025, regardless of when the 
inspection was opened. Nevada OSHA’s penalties for violations of the Nevada Occupational 
Safety and Health Act are as follows: 
 

• For willful violations, where Nevada OSHA demonstrates that an employer knowingly 
failed to comply with an OSHA standard, or demonstrated a plain indifference for 
employee safety, the maximum penalty increases from $161,323 to $165,514. 
 

• For repeated violations, maximum penalties will increase from $161,323 to $165,514. 
 

• Penalties for serious violations, where workplace hazards that could cause an injury or 
illness that would most likely result in death or serious physical harm, the maximum 
penalty increases from $16,131 to $16,550. 
 

• For each other-than-serious violation, the maximum penalty increases from $16,131 
to $16,550. 
 

• For failure to abate violations, in instances where employers were previously cited and 
failed to correct violations, the maximum penalty increases from $16,131 to $16,550 per 
day unabated beyond the abatement date [generally limited to 30 days maximum]. 
 

• For each posting requirement violation, the maximum penalty increases from $16,131 
to $16,550. 
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